Motor Vehicle Registrations:
New Registrations: The Weld Town Office License Plates. When you purchase a new car, whether, through a dealership or a private sale, the town office will process your whole transaction. You will need:
- Vehicle information
- Title (signed) to the vehicle if it is 15 years or newer or MVT 2 blue application if purchased from a dealer
- Bill of Sale or a previous State registration form
- Proof of Insurance
- Current mileage
- Check or Cash (The Weld Town Office does not except Debit or Credit Cards)
A standard Maine License Plate (Chickadee) = $25/year A Vanity Maine License Plate is an extra $15 per year. All other Specialty plates (Loon, Lobster, Black Bear, UMO, etc.) are an extra $15 per year.
You will leave the Weld Town Office with new license plates for your vehicle, a one-year registration form, and stickers for the license plates.
The only plates that we can not issue are Vanity Plates. If you wish to have a Vanity Plate on your vehicle, you will have to FIRST come to the Weld Town Office and pay excise tax. We will issue you an excise tax receipt and then send you to a State of Maine BMV Branch (Mexico) to get Vanity Plates.
Renewal Registrations: Make sure you bring with you your proof of insurance, current mileage, and cash or check.
Hunting and Fishing Licenses:
The town office can issue State of Maine Resident and Non-Resident Licenses.
To purchase a Maine Hunting License you need to supply your previous year’s license, or we need to have a copy in our office/computer, or you need to show proof that you have completed a State of Maine Hunter’s Safety course. The same rule applies to purchase a Maine Archery License.
For more information on licenses and permits, please use the following link to the state of Maine’s website.
Hunting & Trapping:
Boat excise tax must be paid by a resident to the tax collector of their town before registration. A nonresident, prior to registering a motorboat which is located in Maine more than 75 days during a calendar year, must pay an excise tax to the Maine town where the boat is principally moored, docked or located. If the boat is exempt from tax, a tax exemption form must be completed by the owner and submitted with registration application and registration fee.
Proof of payment of sales tax is required for new registrations (resident and nonresident).
Watercraft registrations are issued for a specific calendar year and are valid through December 31st of the year issued.
The Boater’s Guide to Maine Boating Laws and Responsibilities
Fees (*Fee includes $1.00 agent fee.)
- 0-10 Horsepower Motor – $26.00* with lake and river protection sticker
- 0-10 Horsepower Motor – $16.00* without lake and river protection sticker
- 11-50 Horsepower Motor – $31.00* with lake and river protection sticker
- 11-50 Horsepower Motor – $21.00* without lake and river protection sticker
- 51-115 Horsepower Motor – $37.00* with lake and river protection sticker
- 51-115 Horsepower Motor – $27.00* without lake and river protection sticker
- Over 116 Horsepower Motor – $45.00* with lake and river protection sticker
- Over 116 Horsepower Motor – $35.00* without lake and river protection sticker
- Personal Watercraft – $45.00* with lake and river protection sticker
- Personal Watercraft – $35.00* without lake and river protection sticker
- Duplicate Boat Registration – $1.00 agent fee
- Duplicate Boat Registration & Sticker – $2.00
- Boat Temporary Transfer – $4.00
Agents may charge a fee of $1.00 for renewals and duplicates, and $2.00 for new registrations, rollovers, or transfers.
The Weld Town Office processes resident as well as non-residents snowmobile registrations. Please bring the paperwork in with you giving general information on the snowmobile you are registering.
New registrations are subject to Maine Sales Tax and a $2 processing fee. If you purchased your snowmobile from a dealership please make sure you bring the green dealer use tax certificate form with you.
Agents may charge a fee of $1 for renewals and $2 for new registrations.
Proof of payment of sales tax required for new registrations (Maine residents only).
Nonresident 3-day $50.00*; 10-DAY $76.00*; Season $100.00*
*Fee includes $1.00 agent fee.
For registration period starting July 1, the registration fee will be $34* for a resident, $54.00 for a nonresident 7-day, and $69* for a nonresident season.
*Fee includes $1.00 agent fee.
New registrations only – Beginning May 1st of each year, registrations will be valid from the date of issue through June 30 of the following year.
Proof of payment of sales tax required on first-time registrations or proof of prior registration (Maine residents only).